Skip to content

Blackened Fish Baja Tacos

May 11, 2013

By Kath Dedon

a

Cooking Light’s The New Way to Cook Light (which just last weekend won the 2013 James Beard Award in the “Focus on Health” category) has a terrific recipe for fish tacos. They used tilapia, but I chose to use fresh lingcod fillets instead. Blackened Fish Baja Tacos made a fantastic dinner which Bob and I both enjoyed.

The tacos would be equally good, I think, with true cod, mahi mahi, or any fish that you enjoy. Cooking Light suggests using shrimp as an alternative as well.

Although it took a little longer to make than I was expecting, the recipe is very easy and I will definitely be making Blackened Fish Baja Tacos again!

 a

Blackened Lingcod Baja Tacos 2

a

Blackened Fish Baja Tacos

(Adapted from Cooking Light’s The New Way to Cook Light)

a

 

(print the recipe)

 a

Serves 4 (2 tacos each)

 a

¼ cup reduced fat sour cream

2 tablespoons chopped cilantro

2 tablespoons fresh lime juice

1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped

1 cup thinly sliced white onion

1½ teaspoons paprika

1½ teaspoons brown sugar (I used maple sugar.)

1 teaspoon dried oregano

¾ teaspoon garlic powder

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon ground cumin

¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 tablespoon oil

4 (6-ounce) lingcod fillets (or fish of your choice)

8 (6-inch) corn tortillas

½ ripe avocado, thinly sliced

4 lime wedges

 a

1. Put the sour cream, cilantro, lime juice, and jalapeno pepper in a food processor and process until smooth. (My small processor worked fine.) Put in a bowl and stir in the sliced onions.

onion sauce

a

2. Stir the paprika, sugar, oregano, garlic powder, salt, cumin, and cayenne pepper together in a small bowl.

spice mix

a

3. Coat the fish fillets on both sides with the spice mixture. Use all of it.

lingcod ready to cook

a

4. Preheat the oven to warm. Heat a cast iron skillet over medium heat until hot. Put the tortillas in the dry skillet, heating them for about 30 – 40 seconds on each side. When all of the tortillas are done, wrap them in foil and keep them in the warm oven.

heating tortillas

a

5. Add the oil to the skillet and heat until it’s hot. Add the fish fillets and cook until the fish flakes easily with a fork, about 3 minutes on each side.

Blackened lingcod

a

6. Divide the sour cream mixture, fish, and avocado slices evenly between the tortillas. Serve with lime wedges.

a

Blackened Lingcod Baja Tacos

a

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2013 10:50 am

    Mmmm this looks VERY much like the blackened mahi mahi I had in Hawaii. Will have to try this!

  2. May 15, 2013 8:12 pm

    I have heard great things about the book, and now I’m eager to try one of the recipes. These look so very good, my friend! Thank you for sharing them with us!

    • May 16, 2013 6:45 am

      There are so many great-sounding recipes in the book, Monet! I’m looking forward to trying some more.

  3. May 16, 2013 9:24 am

    I will have to pick up that book. I need lighter recipes in lieu of all the baking I’ve been doing. Fish tacos are one of my favs, and I do love blackened anything. Hope you are having a good week.
    -Gina-

    • May 16, 2013 10:12 am

      Thanks, Gina! I do love the way Cooking Light lightens up recipes without compromising flavor. And I appreciate that they don’t use artificial sweeteners or a lot of fat-free ingredients. I think you’ll like the book.

  4. May 22, 2013 12:00 pm

    I love blackened fish and then put them in a taco?? I am in heaven! Looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.