Skip to content

Flax Buns

February 14, 2013

By Kath Dedon

 a

I found this recipe for Flax Buns in an amazon.com comment about Bob’s Red Mill Golden Flaxseed Meal. Apparently golden flaxseed meal works much better than regular flaxseed meal for this recipe. And you need a muffin top pan to make it work.

I was very skeptical about this recipe, but I bought the flaxmeal and the muffin top pan, and what do you know? It works! The buns have a very tender, bread-like crumb. They’re small, about the size of a “sandwich thin”. I’m able to slice them in half horizontally to make a sandwich. Or I’ll use half of one to make toast.

The Flax Buns are wheat free, gluten free, high fiber, high protein, low carb,  and full of healthy essential fatty acids and plant lignans. (Go ahead and google those if you want to know more.) And, they can literally be ready to eat in mere minutes. I love that!

The original recipe included an artificial sweetener, which I left out. I really don’t think it needs any sweetener. The original recipe also makes 6 buns. I cut it in half so I just make 3 at a time. The recipe is so quick to make, I decided it would be better to make them fresh more often.

So, if you are looking for an alternative bread, get yourself a muffin top pan and some golden flaxseed meal and give these a try. They are way better than any commercial gluten free bread I have tried.

I’d like to thank “G. Fawkes” for sharing the recipe in the amazon comments!

 a

A flax bun, sliced in half

Flax Bun

a

Flax Buns

(Adapted from G. Fawkes’ recipe left in an amazon.com comment.)

(print the recipe)

 a

Makes 3 or 6 buns

 a

For 6 buns:

¾ cup (78g) golden flaxseed meal

1½ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons olive oil

2 large eggs, beaten

3 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon water

 a

For 3 buns:

6 tablespoons (39g) golden flaxseed meal

¾ teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 large egg, beaten

1 tablespoon + 2 teaspoons water

 a

1. Preheat the oven to 350˚.

2. Stir the flaxmeal, baking powder, and salt together.

3. Add the olive oil, beaten eggs, and water to the dry ingredients, and stir until well-combined.

4. Let the mixture sit for 2 – 3 minutes to thicken up.

5. Divide the batter into muffin top cups (about ¼ cup batter to each cup).

6. Bake for 15 minutes.

7. Remove from the pan and cool on a rack.

Flax Buns

aa

Batch of 6 Flax Buns

6 Flax Buns

a

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    February 14, 2013 12:14 pm

    Muffin top pans exist?? I need five!

  2. February 14, 2013 12:26 pm

    I’m intrigued! I will definitely be passing this recipe on to some friends. What is the flavor like?

    • February 14, 2013 12:30 pm

      It’s slightly eggy, but to me it’s very wheat-like in flavor.

  3. Marcella Rousseau permalink
    February 15, 2013 12:55 pm

    Your bun recipe sounds delicious! Maybe you would like my whole wheat bread recipe: http://marcellarousseau.wordpress.com/2013/02/15/new-food-friday-blackstrap-molasses/

  4. February 24, 2013 11:22 am

    Just made these but used regular flax, they turned out fine and not eggy at all! Thank you so much, I love how simple the recipe is. However they did not make 6 for some reason :/ and mine were even in smaller muffin pans?

    • February 24, 2013 11:36 am

      Glad you liked them, Elaine. I don’t know why you wouldn’t have gotten 6.

  5. May 23, 2013 7:20 pm

    Just made these for dinner tonight ~ they are fabulous! I am on the Paleo diet for my insulin resistance and I can’t eat wheat. I haven’t had bread in such a long time, so these really hit the spot! Thanks for posting this recipe ~ I love them and I’m sure I will be making them over and over again!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.