Skip to content

Kielbasa Sausage a la Fenway Park

July 16, 2011

Bob and I both liked the Kielbasa sausages sold outside of Fenway Park in Boston so much that I decided to try to recreate them at home.

a

a

This isn’t really a recipe. It’s all about the ingredients.

Start with a good quality Kielbasa sausage. I chose Hempler’s. It’s a local company based in Ferndale, Washington, which is near Bellingham. Their Kielbasa Smoked Sausage is a high quality product that contains no MSG. The Kielbasa is ¾ pound, so one sausage is enough for 3 generous servings.

a

Metropolitan Market makes their own hot dog buns at their bakery. They are much better than average!

a

For the peppers, I used Mama Lil’s Kick Butt Peppers.

I cooked some onions in a bit of oil over low heat until they were golden brown.

a

To put it all together, I turned all three burners on my gas grill to high. After 10 minutes, I turned 2 of the burners off. I put the kielbasa over the lit burner and cooked it for about 4 or 5 minutes on each side. Then I moved it to the unlit section of the grill to finish cooking using indirect heat. I let them cook for about 10 minutes more.

(If you don’t have a grill, just cook them on the stove, preferably in a cast iron pan.)

To serve, cut the Kielbasa into 3 pieces. Put a piece on each bun. Top with grilled onions, Mama Lil’s Peppers, and Dijon mustard.

You can stand up to eat them like we did outside of Fenway, or you can do as we did at home and sit down at the table.   🙂

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2011 10:17 am

    YUM! 🙂

  2. July 17, 2011 2:05 pm

    I moved to the US in 1994 and my first major sporting event was Ireland playing Norway a World Cup soccer game at Giants Stadium in NJ. Trust me the hot dogs did not look this good. maybe I need to move to Boston LOL

    • July 17, 2011 2:08 pm

      It’s definitely true – not all stadium hot dogs are as good as Boston’s! 😉

  3. July 17, 2011 2:41 pm

    I will just sit here and quietly and thoroughly drool now

  4. July 17, 2011 4:02 pm

    Love kielbasa sausage. Great post!

  5. July 19, 2011 7:38 pm

    Nothing better than a sausage before a Sox game. These look amazing!

  6. March 16, 2012 6:25 pm

    kielbasa

Trackbacks

  1. Roasted Bell Peppers | In the kitchen with Kath

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.