Skip to content

Chopped Greek Salad with Chicken

June 3, 2013

A lot of the recipes on this blog are here because I don’t want to lose them. I want to be able to make them again.  Chopped Greed Salad with Chicken is one of those recipes. I’ve made it twice in the last month. It’s not knock-your-socks-off amazing, but it’s a tasty way to use leftover roast chicken. It’s especially good for a warm summer evening. If it’s too hot to cook, you can pick up the ingredients and a rotisserie chicken at the supermarket for an easy no-heat dinner.

The original recipe is from Eating Well magazine. Although tomatoes and cucumbers are classic ingredients in a Greek salad, the folks at Eating Well suggest substituting other vegetables you like. They mention broccoli and bell peppers. I think cauliflower and fresh corn kernels would be good, too.

Chopped Greek Salad with Chicken is a terrific light dinner on its own. Keeping with the Greek theme, warmed pita bread and hummus would go well with the salad.

 a

Chopped Greek Salad with Chicken

a

Chopped Greed Salad with Chicken

(Adapted from an Eating Well recipe.)

 a

(print the recipe)

 a

Serves 4 (Halve the ingredients for 2 servings.)

 a

Dressing:

1/3 cup red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon chopped fresh dill or oregano, or 1 teaspoon dried (I used dried oregano)

1 teaspoon garlic powder

¼ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon freshly ground pepper

 a

Salad ingredients:

6 cups romaine lettuce, torn into bite-sized pieces

2½ cups chopped cooked chicken (about 12 ounces)

2 medium tomatoes, seeded and chopped (or a cup or so of grape tomatoes, sliced in half)

1 medium cucumber, peeled, seeded, and chopped

½ cup finely chopped red onion

½ cup sliced kalamata olives

½ cup crumbled feta cheese

 a

Ingredients for Greek Salad

1. Whisk the vinegar, olive oil, dill or oregano, garlic powder, salt and pepper together in a large bowl.

Whisk dressing

2. Add all of the salad ingredients to the bowl. Toss well until the dressing is evenly distributed and serve.

a

Talk about easy!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda Stevenson permalink
    July 1, 2013 6:05 pm

    My very first comment on Pinterest! I substituted 1 Tbl. fresh pressed garlic for the powder and sauted a chicken breast, then cubed it. All else was as your recipe. My husband and I tnought this was absolutely the best greek salad we’ve ever eaten!! Thank you.

    • July 1, 2013 6:13 pm

      I love your changes, Linda! This salad is good enough to cook some chicken for it. I normally use fresh garlic, but I wanted to follow the Eating Well recipe. It could only be better with fresh garlic, and I’ll do that next time.
      Thanks so much for letting me know how much you and your husband enjoyed it. I really appreciate your comment.

  2. September 4, 2021 1:55 pm

    This chopped Greek salad looks delicious. I will definitely cook it.

Trackbacks

  1. | Kids in the Kitchen Part 2 – Lunch
  2. Kids in the Kitchen Part 2 – Lunch - Dean McDermott: The Gourmet Dad

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.