Skip to content

Boiled Lobster Tails

February 15, 2013

By Kath Dedon

 a

I had never cooked lobster tails before last night. Maybe it’s because they are not a local seafood. We live in “crab land”. Dungeness crabs are bountiful in the Pacific Northwest, so they are the shellfish we most often enjoy. But this week I noticed that one of our upscale markets was featuring lobster tails for Valentine’s Day so I decided to make Boiled Lobster Tails as part of my “Surf and Turf” dinner for Bob.

Surfing the Internet, I found all kinds of ways to prepare them, including grilling, roasting, steaming, baking, and boiling. I found an excellent video about how to butterfly them. I found a site that gave several methods of cooking and it also recommended putting a skewer through the tails to keep them straight, regardless of your cooking method. In the end, I chose this simple method from Better Homes and Gardens for boiling the lobster tails. I figured it would give me the pure lobster flavor I wanted with no danger of drying out the meat.

I loved this simple preparation! The Boiled Lobster Tails, served with a grilled steak, green beans, and a salad made our Valentine’s Day dinner feel quite special. But there’s no reason you can’t make Surf and Turf any day of the year for your honey!

Boiled lobster tail

a

Boiled Lobster Tails

(Adapted from a Better Homes and Gardens recipe)

 a

(print the recipe)

 a

Serves 2

 a

2 lobster tails (5 – 8 ounces each)

1½ teaspoons salt

Melted butter (optional, for serving)

 a

2 for $12.98. Not bad!

Lobster Tails on sale

a

1. Bring 6 cups of water to boil in a 3-quart pot.

2. Run a wooden skewer through each lobster tail lengthwise to keep them straight.

Skewered lobster tails

a

3. When the water is boiling, add 1½ teaspoons salt to the pot. Add the lobster tails and turn the heat down a bit so they are simmering. Simmer for 5 – 8 minutes (or 1 minute for each ounce of your lobster tails).

4. Drain for a minute or so in a colander. Then use scissors to cut the shells; spread them open with your fingers.

5. Serve with melted butter, if desired.

Lobster tail and steak

41 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2013 9:36 am

    Those look SO good!

    • February 15, 2013 9:38 am

      Thanks, Laura! They were tasty and so easy! Met Market may still have them on sale.

      • Angie permalink
        December 24, 2013 3:42 pm

        Awesome, didn’t know about the wooden skewer! I have 10 lobster tails that i will cook next weekend. Getting my sticks out!!

  2. February 15, 2013 10:13 am

    What a lovely treat! I’ll wager this was a delicious meal. I would have loved to join you for dinner :-). Have a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

  3. February 15, 2013 5:50 pm

    Omg, you are making me wish I had lobster instead of the chicken I have in the oven for dinner, lol. That is a good price too, most of the times the are at least $10 each here. I love how you served them with a side of butter, the only way to go. I’m thinking next week I might have to go for it and get some lobster. I boiled them once and they came out great, I did them in the oven once and they were dry, but it could have been I left them in there too long. Have a great weekend.
    -Gina-

    • February 16, 2013 9:07 am

      Thanks for your comment, Gina! I wondered about the recipes for broiled, baked or roasted lobster tails. It seems like it would be easy to overcook them. Hope you have a great weekend, too.

  4. February 17, 2013 1:05 pm

    Oh lobster! This reminds me of our summers in Maine (which is a very good memory to evoke!) Thank you for sharing another delectable creation. I hope you are having a restful Sunday afternoon, and I hope you have an even better week. Hugs and love!

  5. Bea permalink
    June 27, 2013 5:32 pm

    wow I live in New Brunswick and buy the tails for 2.99 each!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  6. Sue, Toronto permalink
    July 20, 2013 3:42 pm

    Thanks Kath – Just purchased lobster tails without a clue how to cook them and wanted a no-fuss-easy-to-do recipe. Am just about to plop them in the boiling water!

    • July 20, 2013 5:04 pm

      Hope it works as well for you, Sue, as it did for me. It was easy indeed!

  7. Candace Weixel permalink
    December 22, 2013 1:10 pm

    Do you thaw the lobster first prior to putting in water?

    • December 22, 2013 2:51 pm

      Hi Candace,
      Mine were not frozen when I bought them, so I’d say that you should defrost them first to use this method.

      • Candace Weixel permalink
        December 22, 2013 3:43 pm

        Thank-you for your reply, I will thaw the Lobster first.Happy Holidays… Candace

  8. Andi permalink
    December 24, 2013 6:26 pm

    Can someone please
    tell me if you cut the hard shell or the under side of the lobster tail.

  9. Jean permalink
    February 11, 2014 2:41 pm

    I used your directions for cooking the lobster, then grilled a filet mignon, sliced it thin and added the tail, sliced and buttered, to fettucine with Alfredo sauce and just to be a tiny bit more outrageous, served allthat with some warm croissants. Totally decadent, especially since it is snowing outside and this became a new comfort food!

  10. Michelle Kopacz permalink
    February 14, 2014 7:48 pm

    I was just Googling how to prepare lobster tails and came upon your blog, first. My 12 year old son and I plan to celebrate our Valentines Day with filet mignon, lobster tails, green beans and Caesar salad. No Joke!! Thank you!

    • February 14, 2014 9:30 pm

      Fabulous! We had lobster tails, filet mignon, artichoke hearts, and iceberg wedges with blue cheese dressing tonight. Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your son!

  11. February 22, 2014 6:14 pm

    Thank you! What great tips for such a wonderful meal!

  12. March 26, 2014 2:11 pm

    Why don’t you you set up this site so that anyone can print out a particular recipe? Thanks

    • March 26, 2014 4:31 pm

      Hi Carol,
      Between the title of the recipe and the list of ingredients you’ll see (print the recipe). If you click on that you’ll get a printable copy of the recipe.
      Thanks for your question!
      Kath

  13. Suzanne permalink
    March 31, 2014 1:05 pm

    Hi Carol, great idea with the wooden sticks. We are fixing these for the first time tonight.

  14. April 20, 2014 10:31 pm

    Thanks a simple easy and tasty way to prepare lobster tails. It worked for me.

  15. Dave permalink
    February 17, 2015 9:00 am

    Making Lobster Newburg tonight for my honey. For a change I will boil the tails, usually bake them. Thanks for the tip about the skewers. This is way too easy.

    • February 17, 2015 3:58 pm

      I’d say your honey is very lucky, indeed! I think you’ll love using the skewers.

  16. Brian Roy permalink
    June 14, 2015 1:58 pm

    Great tips. Boiling tails now. Thank you.

  17. February 14, 2016 8:29 pm

    Thank you. This is perfect – love the 1-minute per ounce guideline. I have 6 oz tails and look forward to enjoying them a few minutes from now with great baked squash (zuchinni and yellow) and J rose champagne followed by chocolate dipped giant strawberries for dessert. ❤

    • February 14, 2016 8:32 pm

      We had them tonight, too. Perfect for Valentine’s Day! The rest of your menu sounds fantastic!

  18. January 24, 2020 6:38 am

    I loved your tip about the skewers. It makes the process so much easier! I just had a shipment of lobster come in (I have to order online), and these were the first thing I made. So fast and simple, but so delicious.

Trackbacks

  1. Today is the 5th Anniversary of my blog! | In the kitchen with Kath

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.