Skip to content

Asparagus in Mustard Sauce

April 15, 2012

I quadrupled Jacques Pepin’s Asparagus in Mustard Sauce for Easter dinner, and it was a huge hit – especially the Mustard Sauce!

The Mustard Sauce was placed next to the asparagus in the serving line so people could add as much as they wanted. Sarah sat down at the table and said that she had added the sauce to the ham, too. After hearing her rave about it on the ham, the sauce was brought to the dining room table and passed around so we all could add it to our ham. It was truly incredible!

The Mustard Sauce was the surprise hit of the dinner. How could something so simple be so good? (To me, it’s the genius of Chef Jacques Pepin.)  Everyone started thinking about ways it could be used…on lamb…on grilled fish…   I admitted that I had used a bit as a salad dressing the night before.

The recipe is from Pepin’s Essential Pepin. On the cover, he says it has “More than 700 All-time Favorites from My Life in Food”. I love his style and look forward to trying a lot more of his favorites. There are no photos in the book, but it is full of charming illustrations done by Jacques. If you’re interested in classic recipes that just work, I highly recommend this book!

Jacques Pepin says that Asparagus in Mustard Sauce is a classic dish in French bistros and restaurants.  I think the Mustard Sauce is going to become a classic  in my kitchen!

a

a

Asparagus in Mustard Sauce

(Adapted from Jacques Pepin’s recipe in Essential Pepin)

 a

(print the recipe)

 a

Jacques uses canola oil; I substituted light olive oil, which worked fine. You don’t want to use a flavorful olive oil here. He used white wine vinegar; I used white balsamic vinegar.

 a

Serves 4

a

1¼ pounds asparagus

3/4 cup boiling water

a

Mustard Sauce

2 tablespoons Grey Poupon Dijon mustard

2 tablespoons light olive oil (or canola oil)

2 tablespoons walnut oil

2 teaspoons white balsamic vinegar (or white wine vinegar)

½ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

a

1. Wash the asparagus and break off the ends.

2. Put the asparagus in a large pan. Pour the boiling water over it. Cover and turn the heat on high. When it comes to a boil, boil for about 3 minutes.

3. Put the cooked asparagus in a strainer, and let it dry and cool in the strainer.

4. When ready to serve, put the asparagus on a platter. Serve the Mustard Sauce on the side, or drizzle it over the asparagus on the platter. Serve at room temperature.

 a

Sauce:

I put everything in my Blender Ball and gave it a few shakes and it was ready. If you don’t have a Blender Ball, put everything in a bowl and whisk it together. It doesn’t matter if it is not fully emulsified.

a

a

Mustard Sauce in the Blender Ball

 a

a

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2012 4:01 pm

    Oh how fantastic this mustard sauce. I have been looking for something other than the hollandaise and this will do it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I’ve copied down the recipe. I am going to have to check out the cookbook you mentioned. Happy Sunday!

  2. April 15, 2012 4:01 pm

    Looks just yummy. Simply perfect, right? I made a carrot rice pilaf for Easter that was the surprise hit of the day, too. Sometimes, people do like a little twist on the traditional. I love asparagus any ol’ way, but I’ll be saving this one. Thanks, Kath!

  3. April 15, 2012 4:06 pm

    I don’t know what is exciting me more — the mustard sauce or the blender ball!

  4. April 15, 2012 5:15 pm

    This looks delicious! The combination of mustard and asparagus is intriguing.

  5. April 15, 2012 5:27 pm

    This looks so good, I’m so glad you shared the recipe! You can never go wrong with a Jacques Pepin recipe;-) I just picked up Essential Pepin, can’t wait to explore!

  6. April 15, 2012 6:43 pm

    Looks delicious! I love asparagus – I will have to make this!

  7. eliotthecat permalink
    April 16, 2012 7:02 pm

    MMMM. I can’t wait for fresh asparagus. I think it should be any time now here. Perhaps this weekend at the FM (I can hope!)

  8. April 16, 2012 8:06 pm

    This sounds perfect. I love lightly cooked asparagus with a flavorful but simple dressing.

  9. April 18, 2012 10:32 am

    I have been craving asparagus something fierce! 🙂 That blender ball sounds so interesting! Shake instead of wisk! I bet the kids would love one of those. 🙂

  10. April 19, 2012 4:45 am

    One of the reasons I love spring are asparagus(and of course other fresh greens) on the market. They are so simple but interesting plus so healthy!

  11. April 20, 2012 6:39 pm

    Since you like asparagus, you might be interested in this collection of all things asparagus. Asparagus Food on Fridays

Trackbacks

  1. Gluten-Free Vanilla Cupcakes « In the kitchen with Kath

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.