Skip to content

Pan Roasted Chicken with Mushrooms, Onions, and Rosemary

March 16, 2012

What’s for dinner? That’s what I asked myself last night. I wanted to use the chicken thighs and sliced mushrooms that were in the refrigerator. I did a quick search on Kalyn’s Kitchen and found her Pan Roasted Chicken with Mushrooms, Onions, and Rosemary. Perfect!

Kalyn adapted her recipe from one in Eat This Book: Cooking with Global Fresh Flavors, by Tyler Florence. She says Tyler made a pan sauce after the chicken was done, but she chose not to do that. I added just a bit of water to the pan after removing the cooked chicken to make a simple sauce. The original recipe serves 4; I cut it in half for a “dinner for 2”.

If you have a cast iron skillet you can go right from the stove-top to the oven with it. If you don’t have an oven-proof skillet, you’ll have to put everything in a casserole after the initial browning.

Pan Roasted Chicken with Mushrooms, Onions, and Rosemary has a lot of flavor and is an easy weeknight meal. Next time I might add some garlic cloves just because I think garlic would make it even better!

a

Update September 23, 2013: I made this again last night with one small difference. I used half and half instead of water for the pan sauce. No surprise….it was even better.  😉

a

Pan Roasted Chicken with Mushrooms, Onions, and Rosemary

(Adapted from a Tyler Florence recipe on the Kalyn’s Kitchen blog)

 a

(print the recipe)

 a

Serves 2 (double the ingredients to serve 4)

 a

4 chicken thighs

Salt and Pepper

1 tablespoon olive oil

½ cup red onion, chopped into 1-inch pieces

4 oz. sliced mushrooms

5 sprigs fresh rosemary

¼ cup water or half and half (optional for sauce)

 a

1. Preheat the oven to 350˚.

2. Generously season the chicken thighs on both sides with salt and pepper.

a

3. Heat a skillet over medium heat. Add the oil.

4. When the oil is hot, add the chicken thighs, skin-side down. Let them brown for about 10 minutes.

5. Turn the thighs over and brown for another 5 minutes.

a

6. Remove the thighs from the pan. (Put them in a casserole, if your pan is not oven-proof.)

7. Add the onion and mushrooms to the pan and cook, stirring occasionally, for about 5 minutes.

a

a

a

8. Add the rosemary sprigs.

a

9. Put the chicken back in the pan. (Or put the mushroom mixture in the casserole with the chicken.)

a

a

10. Roast for 40 minutes or until done.

 a

a

11. Remove and discard the rosemary sprigs; take the chicken and vegetables out of the pan.

12. If you have roasted the chicken in a skillet, you can make a quick pan sauce. Tip the pan to spoon out some of the excess fat. Then add the ¼ cup of water to the pan. Cook, stirring, for 2 or 3 minutes. Serve the chicken with the sauce.

a

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2012 4:41 am

    I just love chicken thighs. So much meatier and richer than all white meat. Love this recipe. Saved.

  2. March 17, 2012 10:35 am

    Your photo of the finished dish is fantastic. So glad you enjoyed it!
    Reply

    • March 17, 2012 10:47 am

      Thank you so much, Kalyn! I just love your blog; it’s a great source for healthy recipes! 🙂

  3. March 20, 2012 6:38 pm

    I love anything with rosemary. I can’t wait for fresh asparagus, too.

    • March 27, 2012 2:29 pm

      We’re lucky to have a huge rosemary bush for year-round use. Fresh, local asparagus in the spring is the best! I have to splurge on imported asparagus now and then, though, because I love it so much.

  4. March 26, 2012 6:45 pm

    So good! I usually like chicken breasts and my mom loves thighs. I’m going to have to make this for her. Thank you for sharing. I hope you have a blessed week, my friend.

    • March 27, 2012 2:24 pm

      I’m sure your mom will love it, Monet! What a sweet thing to do for your mom. You have a great week, too!

  5. Bernard permalink
    November 12, 2013 3:42 pm

    Thank you for this recipe and the basic but comprehensive layout and description. It looks as though it allows you to put your own personal twist to it regarding flavours, ie adding garlic etc. Looking forward to trying this tomorrow.

  6. June 25, 2015 6:35 am

    Hmm these look delicious, thanks for posting up this recipe, looks quite simple to make.

    Simon

    • June 25, 2015 6:46 am

      It is truly pretty easy to make, Simon. Give it a try; I think you’ll like it. Thanks for your comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.