Skip to content

Rosemary Mustard Grilled Chicken Breasts

July 2, 2011

I’m sure Rosemary Mustard Grilled Chicken Breasts would be appreciated at any 4th of July get-together. After a few hours in an easy-to-make marinade, boneless chicken breasts are quick to grill. The result is chicken that is flavorful and not overcooked and dry.


The recipe is from Kalyn’s Kitchen. Kalyn writes that it is one of the most requested recipes on her blog, and I can see why. It’s so easy and it tastes great! In the summer, all you need is a big salad to accompany the grilled chicken.

I cut Kalyn’s recipe in half and made just 4 chicken breasts, but you can certainly double it to make 8. Kalyn says the Spike seasoning is optional, so you can leave it out. I omitted the celery seed; if you want to add it, use ½ teaspoon.

Kalyn advocates trimming the chicken breasts for grilling so they are about the same thickness overall. She also cuts slices into them at about ½-inch intervals when she’s using a marinade. The slices enable the marinade to more thoroughly penetrate the chicken, and they also help the breasts cook more evenly. I had never tried this method before but it seems to work quite well.

I found that my chicken was perfectly cooked after just 11 minutes on my gas grill, which was a much shorter time than Kalyn’s recommended 25 minutes. Timing will depend on the thickness of the chicken breasts and the heat of your grill. I use a meat thermometer to insure that the internal temperature has reached a safe 165˚.

Rosemary Mustard Grilled Chicken Breasts is definitely a recipe I’ll be making again! Next time, though, I’ll give the chicken more time to marinate. They were very good, but I think a few extra hours in the marinade would have made them even better!

Happy 4th of July!

 

Rosemary Mustard Grilled Chicken Breasts

(Adapted from a recipe on Kalyn’s Kitchen)

.

(print the recipe)

.

Serves 4

.

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Marinade:

¼ cup Dijon mustard

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 teaspoon fresh garlic, pressed

1½ tablespoons minced fresh rosemary (or 1 tablespoon dried)

½ teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper

1½ teaspoons Spike Original Seasoning (optional)

 

1. Combine the ingredients for the marinade in a bowl or measuring cup.

a

a

2. Trim the tenders from the chicken breasts. If the breasts have thin, narrow tips, trim them off, too. You can save the trimmings to make chicken broth.

3. Cover the breasts with wax paper and pound the thicker side. (I just used my fist to flatten them a bit.)

4. Make slices in the chicken breasts at about ½-inch intervals.

5. Put the chicken breasts in a Ziploc bag and add the marinade. Distribute the marinade around the chicken as evenly as possible.

6. Refrigerate the chicken for 6 – 8 hours, turning the bag over occasionally during the day. (I actually only marinated mine for about 4½ hours and it was still good!)

a

 Ready to grill

a

7. If using a gas grill, turn it on high to heat up for about 10 minutes.

8. Turn the heat to medium and grill the chicken, slit side down, for about 6 minutes.

9. Turn the chicken breasts over to cook for an additional 5 minutes.

10. Using an instant meat thermometer, check to make sure the internal temperature is 165˚.

11. When done, remove to a platter, cover with foil, and let the chicken rest for about 5 minutes before serving.

 a

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2011 12:28 pm

    I like the idea of partially slicing the breasts. This sounds like a light and flavorful recipe!

  2. July 2, 2011 6:30 pm

    What a light and lovely holiday meal. They will be perfect for those who want something lighter than standard barbecue fare. I hope you have a great weekend. Blessings…Mary

  3. Laura permalink
    July 2, 2011 9:09 pm

    Mmmm that sounds SO GOOD! Will have to try it 🙂

    I’m assuming this marinade would work with other cuts of chicken, too?

    • July 3, 2011 6:04 am

      It would work with any cut of chicken, I’m sure. I’m looking forward to trying it with thighs. It would also be a great marinade to use with chicken pieces for kebabs. (I couldn’t pass up Metropolitan Market’s “buy 1 package, get 1 free” offer on chicken breasts this week.)

  4. July 3, 2011 11:59 am

    Definitely trying this one soon! Thanks for posting such great recipes.

  5. July 4, 2011 3:32 pm

    Hey now this looks so good! I was trying to think if something different to do with chicken this weekend like a rub or marinade tinchange things up a bit. I can’t remember if I’ve ever used mustard as a part of marinade but I need to try this!

  6. July 4, 2011 4:54 pm

    I’ve never seen chicken breasts cut like that, I bet it really lets the marinade in to makes even more flavorful! This time of year I am always looking for new chicken recipes, and this ones is sure a keeper!
    Hope you had a wonderful holiday!

  7. July 5, 2011 6:38 pm

    I love the marinade for the chicken. I have a rosemary plant in my herb garden, just begging for a recipe, and I found it The fact the marinade has mustard in it, doesn’t hurt either. Thanks for sharing..

  8. July 7, 2011 7:40 pm

    I have never thought to score my chicken breasts like that…but what a good idea! I love the sound of this marinade, and of course…your chicken looks so good! Thank you for sharing my friend!

  9. July 10, 2011 10:27 pm

    Yum! I love all the ingredients in the marinade. I definitely don’t understand how a chicken could be dry after bathing in this. Definitely going to make this soon!

  10. Kelly Goken permalink
    May 18, 2021 9:04 am

    I tried these last week and have already made them twice – delicious!

    • May 19, 2021 3:52 pm

      Thanks so much for your comment, Kelly. I’m really glad to hear that you liked them! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Grilled Chicken Breasts | threeovens
  2. Green Beans with Vinaigrette | In the kitchen with Kath
  3. Chicken Recipes Grilled Breast – Recipes Food

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.