Skip to content

Zucchini and Pasta Salad

August 19, 2010

By Kath Dedon

.

Inspired by a beautiful Zucchini and Almond Pasta Salad on Smitten Kitchen, I made my version of Zucchini and Pasta Salad to take to a dinner party tonight.

I used French sheep milk’s feta instead of Parmesan cheese, and I added cherry tomatoes, kalamata olives, and just a bit of slivered basil. This is a salad that will keep well, so it’s a great choice when you want to take something to a party or on a picnic.

.

Zucchini and Pasta Salad 2014

a

Zucchini and Pasta Salad

(Adapted from a recipe on smittenkitchen.com)

a

(print the recipe)

a

Serves 8

a

.

1½ pounds zucchini (4 small ones), sliced very thinly

1 teaspoon salt

About ¾ pound of pasta (I used a 13.25 ounce box of Barilla whole grain rotini)

2 cups cherry tomatoes, sliced in half

½ cup kalamata olives, cut in half

1 cup (about 5 oz) feta cheese, cut into small cubes

½ cup slivered almonds, toasted and cooled (toast at 300˚ for about 10 minutes)

~

1/3 cup olive oil

3 tablespoons lemon juice

Freshly ground black pepper

¼ teaspoon salt

~

3 large basil leaves, cut into thin strips, for garnish

~

Slicing the zucchini:


1. Put the zucchini in a colander; toss it with the 1 teaspoon of salt and let it sit for 20 minutes. Rinse to remove the salt and drain.

~

2. Cook the pasta according to the package instructions in salted water; drain and cool.

~

3. Whisk the olive oil, lemon juice, black pepper and ¼ teaspoon salt together.

.

Whisking with a Blender Bottle (very useful for quick salad dressings; I’ve seen them at Metropolitan Market in Seattle):

~


4. Put the zucchini, pasta, tomatoes, olives, cheese and almonds in a large bowl. Gently toss with the dressing.

5. Garnish with the basil leaves.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 8:29 pm

    Oh my! This looks fabulous! I love zucchini and pasta salad! Will definitely have to try this recipe before the summer ends 😉

  2. August 20, 2010 8:54 am

    This looks delicious…between the garden fresh veggies and the addition of the kalamatas (which my husband and I love), it sounds like a perfect summer side dish. Thanks for sharing your version!

  3. August 20, 2010 5:17 pm

    It looks amazing, great picture, I absolutely love raw zucchinis. It’s crunchy and yummy.

    • August 22, 2010 8:13 am

      Thanks, Anna! The small zucchinis that are available right now are wonderful.

  4. August 21, 2010 6:30 am

    What a beautiful dish. It looks and sounds delicious. I love to visit here. Your recipes never disappoint. I hope you are having a wonderful day. Blesings…Mary

    • August 22, 2010 8:15 am

      Thank you so much, Mary! I am really enjoying receiving your blog posts in my google reader.

  5. August 22, 2010 2:03 pm

    I love this salad, it has so many of my favorite ingredients, I also looked at your peach pie, that looks fantastic too, I need to follow you because I don’t want to miss out on all your recipes, everything looks so delicious, thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. August 23, 2010 3:27 am

    What a beautiful and cheerfully-colored pasta salad! I bet it was popular & went quick. It looks delicious.

  7. August 23, 2010 4:49 pm

    now that is a wonderful pasta salad! I do love the french feta, it is a little milder but has wonderful flavor….what a perfect blend of ingredients in your salad!

  8. August 23, 2010 8:21 pm

    Congratulations on your blog, Kath !!! It’s well organised, the photos step by step are great, and you have excellent recipes!!!
    Thanks for dropping by “chez moi”
    Un beso,
    Cristina

  9. October 19, 2010 8:34 am

    Awesome pasta salad! I just made one the other day, and blogged about it too! I used this recipe for Rotini Pasta Salad It was so delicious!

  10. Heather permalink
    May 23, 2012 4:58 am

    How would it hold up if you made it 1 day in advance?

    • May 23, 2012 5:59 am

      I think it would be fine made one day in advance. I would wait to add the basil garnish until just before serving.

  11. emily permalink
    June 26, 2012 8:07 am

    I’ve featured this post at a summer salad roundup on my blog. You can stop by and grab featured button if you would like. this has been featured at this weeks tasty tuesday party. Check it out! http://www.nap-timecreations.com/

  12. April 19, 2013 10:33 am

    Blender Bottle = genius!

  13. yolanda permalink
    June 29, 2013 3:39 pm

    I’m allergic to feta (sadly loves it when I first tired it then poof rash & swelling) and olives.

    since you substituted the parmesan I’ll just go with that cheese…but can I omit the olives?

    • June 29, 2013 3:57 pm

      Sure, Yolanda, it would still be great without the olives. I love olives and added them, but Deb didn’t use them in her recipe on Smitten Kitchen.

  14. July 26, 2021 5:12 am

    I love zucchini. Thanks for the recipe.

Trackbacks

  1. » Saturday Surfing
  2. Zucchini and Almond Pasta Salad | Sweet Pea's Kitchen
  3. Summer Pasta: 8 Recipes To Print And Save | Lady and the Blog
  4. Grandmother Wren » Blog Archive » The Thursday 13 – Picnic Salads for a Crowd
  5. Sweet Pea's Kitchen » Zucchini and Almond Pasta Salad
  6. 35 Delicious Zucchini Recipes | Six Sisters' Stuff
  7. BASIC LIST / SUGGESTED ITEMS FOR LONG TERM SURVIVAL - Page 357 - ALIPAC
  8. 50 Zucchini Recipes For Your Summer Harvest | The Free Range Life

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.