Skip to content

Broccoli Salad

April 25, 2010

By Kath Dedon

..

Various versions of Broccoli Salad have been showing up at potluck gatherings for quite some time now. They always seem to be popular. Some people who don’t like cooked broccoli (I won’t name any names) will eat it this way.

West Seattle’s St. John the Baptist Episcopal Church celebrated its centennial year in 1992 with a little cookbook of favorite recipes. I was inspired by a recipe in the book called “Marilyn’s Broccoli Salad”. My version will serve 4. The recipe can be easily doubled, or even tripled, if you want to feed a crowd or take it to a potluck.

This salad keeps quite well if you want to make it ahead of time. If you do, though, I would keep the peanuts out and stir them in at the last minute. They will lose some of their crunch if they sit in the dressing too long.

(Update 4/27/10: I made this last weekend and added 3 tablespoons of raisins to the salad. I made it today without the raisins, and I think I prefer it this way.)







Broccoli Salad

Inspired by a recipe in the St. John the Baptist Episcopal Church Cookbook

.

(print the recipe)

.

Serves 4 (Easily doubles to serve 8)

.

.

4 slices bacon

14 ounces (4 – 5 cups when cut up) broccoli

1/3 cup red onion, diced

3 tablespoons chopped peanuts

(3 tablespoons raisins, optional)

¼ cup mayonnaise

1 tablespoon honey

1 tablespoon rice vinegar

~~~~~~~~~~~~

1. Fry the bacon until crisp. Set aside.

2. Wash the broccoli. Peel off the tough outer layer of the stalks and cut the stalks into small pieces. Cut the florets into smaller pieces. Put the broccoli in a bowl.

3. Crumble the bacon. Add the bacon, red onion, peanuts, and raisins, if you’re using them, to the broccoli.

4. Stir the mayonnaise, honey and vinegar together. Pour over the salad and toss well to distribute the dressing throughout the salad.





15 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    April 25, 2010 10:20 am

    Yummy! Thanks for posting 🙂

  2. April 25, 2010 12:37 pm

    It’s so easy! And it’s actually good leftover the next day, even if the peanuts aren’t quite as crunchy.

  3. April 25, 2010 3:03 pm

    Wow that looks good. This would be a great dish to bring to a picnic! Thanks for sharing!

  4. April 26, 2010 8:58 am

    I have never seen a broccoli salad with bacon and peanuts…I love it!! wow thanks for sharing

    sweetlife

    • April 26, 2010 9:38 am

      It’s really good, sweetlife! I’m craving some more, so I’m going to get more broccoli today! 🙂

  5. Carrie permalink
    April 28, 2010 12:54 pm

    “Some people who don’t like cooked broccoli (I won’t name any names) will eat it this way.”

    This is so you… “you’ve never had it this way, you might like it!!” Sigh… 😉

    • April 28, 2010 1:13 pm

      heh heh! Gotta keep trying! 🙂

      • Byron permalink
        April 28, 2010 5:02 pm

        I can personally vouch for this comment. I don’t like broccoli, but Laura made this tonight, and I liked it!

  6. April 29, 2010 11:54 am

    So glad to hear you like it, Byron! See, Carrie?

  7. Mary permalink
    April 8, 2011 12:37 pm

    I am making this for a pot luck tonight! (minus the bacon of course)

    • April 8, 2011 2:13 pm

      It’s always a hit for pot lucks, Mary! And it will be good without the bacon, too! 😉

  8. October 12, 2017 11:21 am

    Yep, I would eat broccoli more like this. Cheers

  9. October 17, 2017 6:18 am

    Good afternoon Kath, we love broccoli in our house so I know your broccoli salad will be a huge hit with my husband. I need to buy some rice wine vinegar and then I will have all the ingredients I need.
    Best Wishes
    Daphne

    • October 17, 2017 6:35 am

      Thanks for your comment, Daphne! My husband is not a fan of broccoli, but he does like it in this salad. (It’s probably the bacon. 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.